How I Choose My TBR

Have you ever felt like there are so many books you want to read? From fiction, to YA, to non fiction, I think we all have been there. Choosing books to read can sometimes take more time than the reading itself!

Taking a book out of the shelf, read it for a bit, then see another one that looks more interesting, so now you can’t focus on your current read and feel a strong calling to that book.. can anyone relate?

Oh, to be a book reader! I experience that calling each time I read, especially if my current read is not so good or if I just bought new books. These experiences are what set me out to find how I can successfully read the books I want, just in order! I have found some useful practices that helps me to finish reading most of the books in my bookshelf, and want to share it with you here!

  • Get a reading journal and planner

I never knew reading journals existed, until several months being in bookstagram. I see all these beautiful journals and I thought it would be great for me to have one. I eventually did, and it was definitely a “bookstagrammademedoit” thing because I wanted it, mainly, to use it as a prop in my photos. The reading journal I have is gorgeous, filled with illustrated pages with bookish quotes, and sections where I can write down my anticipated new releases, bookish goals, bookish hauls, and to be read list. I can keep track of my reading, as well as write my reading plans in the daily/weekly planner.

I would write down a list of books I want to read and set a goal to finish it by a certain date. I am still flexible, meaning I still go off the list and read a book that wasn’t on the list (usually a new release), or I don’t finish it by that specified date. Sometimes, I only read three books out of the five!

Either way, I noticed that I started reading more books ever since I had a reading journal! I also read books much faster than usual, meaning I don’t get stuck reading the same book for weeks!

I believe reading journals has helped me to be accountable and actually read the books on my shelf!

  • Be easy with yourself.

Being on bookstagram is an amazing thing. You can connect with wonderful people all over the world who loves to read books as much as you do! However, sometimes I see photos of bookstagrammers who somehow manages to read 20-30 books each month (they’re beasts!), and I wonder why I can’t read as fast as they do and sometimes even end up not reading for a day. You would be correct in saying that I was feeling a bit overwhelmed.

I have since accepted the fact that people have different reading paces and preferences and I don’t have to read that many books in one month. Reading is meant to be enjoyed, not a contest! So, if you’re feeling slightly overwhelmed like I was back then, then just remember that reading should be fun!

Do you have any other tips? I would love it if you can share it in the comment below!

Leave a comment