Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus

I read this book for a book club and I’m glad I read it!

“Lessons in Chemistry” by Bonnie Garmus is a delightful read that brings you into the world of science, love, and ambition. Set in the 1960s, the novel follows the story of Elizabeth Zott, a brilliant chemist whose life takes unexpected turns as she navigates the challenges of being a woman in a male-dominated field. Garmus creates a compelling narrative that combines humor, romance, and science.

Garmus’ writing brings the story to life, with its vivid description, along with the witty and thought-provoking commentary on gender equality, marriage, sexual and physical abuse, religion, and other social issues, especially in the world of STEM in the 1960s.

I thought this book was fresh and different from other books I’ve read. The third person point of view narrative made me enjoy reading it more, particularly from the POV of the dog!

Please bear in mind that there is a sexual assault scene in the book.

Overall, “Lessons in Chemistry” is a captivating and thought-provoking book that explores social issues through a witty and sarcastic perspective (on occasion). This book deserves the hype it received and I would highly recommend this book!

Leave a comment